All versions of this manual
X
 

Access control: Guest mode

What is the Guest mode

The Guest mode is a way to share graphs with people who do not have an account on Linkurious Enterprise.

Key characteristics:

  • Embeddable in 3rd-party applications: the URL provided by the Guest mode can be embedded in an iframe.
  • Public link sharing: if you are an authenticated user you can create and share public links to your visualizations.
  • Read-only: the data in the database cannot be altered by a Guest user.
  • Simplified interface.

Standard user interface:

Guest mode user interface:

Enabling the Guest mode

By default, the Guest mode is disabled. Enabling the Guest mode is done on a per-source basis so that you can manage the access rights associated with the Guest mode at the source level.

Enabling it is a 3-steps process:

  1. In the Configuration screen (Menu > Admin > Configuration) activate the Guest mode
  2. A new user is created in the user list with the email guest@linkurio.us. By default it is not associated with any user group. Assign the Guest user to the Read-Only group, or any custom group if you need to restrict its rights (see the security warnings below).
  3. Repeat step 2 for each source on which you want to enable the Guest mode as its access rights are managed on a source per source basis.

Once enabled, the Guest mode is available at http://<linkurious>/guest (replace <linkurious> with the actual host and port of your server).

Security warnings

All people who have access to /guest will be able to browse the whole database (in read-only mode), even if nobody has explicitly shared a specific visualization with them. You may want to check who has access to /guest before enabling the Guest mode.

If you have assigned the Guest user to the Read Only built-in user group, all node categories and edge types will be available to see by the people who can access /guest. If the database contains sensitive data, you should create a custom group with limited rights on the data and assign the Guest user to that group.

Even if the Guest user is assigned to a group that has Write or Delete permissions, Guest mode users will not be able to write or edit data.

When initialized with a visualization, the Guest mode allows the user to expand the graph beyond the content of that visualization. Consider restricting the Guest user access rights if that is an issue.

Populating the Guest mode workspace

Accessing /guest directly will return an empty workspace.

Using parameters in the URL you can populate the Guest mode workspace with:

  • The content of a visualization, using its visualization ID: /guest?populate=visualizationId&item_id=123
  • A node, using its node ID: /guest?populate=nodeId&item_id=123
  • A node and its neighbours, using its node ID: /guest?populate=expandNodeId&item_id=123
  • A search query: /guest?populate=searchNodes&search_query=paris&search_fuzziness=0.8
  • A pattern query (e.g. a Cypher query): /guest?populate=pattern&pattern_dialect=cypher&pattern_query=MATCH+(n1)-%5Be%5D-(n2)+WHERE+ID(n1)%3D10+RETURN+e

The Guest user sees the current state of a visualization. Any change to a visualization from an authenticated user will be automatically applied to the public link shared to the Guest user.